Russia, Iran, Turkey sign on 'de-escalation zones' in Syria

Russia, Iran, Turkey sign on 'de-escalation zones' in Syria
Thu May 4, 2017 18:41:02

Russia, Iran and Turkey agreed on the creation of safe zones in Syria.

AP -- Turkey, Iran and Russia have signed an agreement calling for the setting up of four "de-escalation zones" in war-torn Syria in the latest attempt to reduce violence in the Arab country.
But as officials from the three countries backing rival sides in the conflict signed the agreement on Thursday at the Syria cease-fire talks in Kazakhstan, some members of the Syrian opposition delegation shouted in protest and walked out of the conference room in Astana, the Kazakh capital. The opposition has protested Iran's participation at the conference.
The Kazakhstan agreement calls for setting up four zones in northern, central and southern Syria. However, no details were provided about how violence will be reduced in these areas.