Militants in nearly 2,000 regions end fight against Syrian Army

Militants in nearly 2,000 regions end fight against Syrian Army
Thu Jul 6, 2017 12:36:56

The Russian Reconciliation Center for Syria announced in its latest report that the total number the regions of the towns and villages that have thus far signed the peace agreement with the Syrian Army troops stands at 1,996.

(FNA) -- The center's statement that was released on the Russian Defense Ministry's website said that after representatives of militants in 125 more regions inked peace with the Damascus government in Idlib and Hama the total number of the towns, regions and villages that have so far joined the peace plan reached 1,996.

Reports from inside the new round of Syria peace talks in Astana said on Tuesday that the participants agreed on the specification of two of four de-escalation zones in the war-hit country.

The countries participating in the peace talks in Kazakhstan reached an agreement to declare Eastern Ghouta of Damascus and Northern Homs as two of the four de-escalation zones.

According to the report, the parties were waiting for Ankara's response about the regions where al-Nusra Front (also known as Fatah al-Sham Front or the Levant Liberation Board) and the affiliated groups were stationed for setting up de-escalation zones in the Southern parts of Syria, including Sweida, Dara'a and Quneitra.

Also, some talks were held about deploying military forces and the nationality of the peacekeeping troops that were to monitor and ensure the agreement in the four de-escalation zones.

Based on the report, Russia was attempting to encourage other countries, including several Arab and European states, to cooperate in the process but none of the participating states agreed with the decision. The Syrian government did not comment on the issue.

Another issue which will be studied in the new round of Astana talks is the problem of kidnapped and detained people, adding that the Syrian government's delegation and the militant groups participating in Astana talks might be carrying some related lists with themselves in the talks.

The fifth round of talks between the Syrian government and opposition started in Kazakhstan’s capital on Tuesday, with Iran, Russia, and Turkey were present at this round of talks as mediators.

Russia, Iran and Turkey agreed on May 4 to set up four de-escalation zones in Syria.

Under a memorandum signed at the talks in Kazakhstan’s capital of Astana, these four zones include the Idlib Province and some areas in the neighboring provinces of Aleppo, Lattakia and Hama, an area North of Homs, the Damascus suburb of Eastern Ghouta, and a couple of provinces in Southern Syria, Dara'a and Quneitra.

In those areas, outlawing combat operations, along with the establishment of a no-fly zone for military aircraft, were set as of May 6.

The memorandum was concluded for six months and can be extended automatically.