Iran’s Elections Results Announced, Official Results Would Be Announced

Iran’s Elections Results Announced, Official Results Would Be Announced
Mon Feb 29, 2016 10:03:03

The winners of Iran’s 5th Assembly of Experts and 10th parliamentary elections have been announced. Iranian officials have suggested that the results would remain as formerly announced as only “one ballot box is left” yet uncounted.

In the early hours of Monday, Tehran Governor Hossein Hashemi told reporters in Tehran that the official results would be announced later on Monday.

“I think the latest list will be approved in the end,” he added.

According to the results, the chairman of the Expediency Council and former president, Akbar Hashemi Rafsanjani, and Mohammad Aqa Emami were at the top of Tehran’s list for the Assembly of Experts. They were followed by President Hassan Rouhani, a current member of the assembly, Mohsen Qomi, and Tehran's interim Friday Prayers leader Mohammad Ali Movahhedi, as well as former attorney-general Qorbanali Dorri-Najafabadi, PRESS TV reports.

Final results of Expert Assembly voting in Tehran province

The final results of vote counting in Tehran province for Experts Assembly election was released on Monday.

According to the Interior Ministry Headquarters for Elections, a total of 4, 500, 894 votes were counted out of 6, 124 balloting boxes.

The following people have acquired the highest number of votes so far:

1. Akbar Hashemi Bahramani: 2, 301, 492
2. Mohammad Aqa Emami: 2, 286, 483
3. Hassan Rouhani: 2, 238, 166
4. Mohsen Qomi: 2, 229, 759
5. Mohammad Ali Movahedi: 2, 134, 963
6. Qorbanali Dorri Najafabadi: 2, 056, 427
7. Seyyed Aboulfazl Mirmohammadi: 1, 962,944
8. Mohammad Mohammadi Nik (Rey Shahri): 1, 952, 563
9. Ebrahim Haj Najafabadi: 1, 904, 524
10. Seyyed Mahmoud Alavi: 1, 706, 855
11. Nasrallah Shahabadi: 1, 445, 142
12. Mohammad Ali Taskhirir: 1, 442, 224
13. Mohsen Esmaili: 1, 422, 935
14. Mohammad Hassan Zali: 1, 354, 756
15. Seyyed Hashem Bathaie: 1, 324, 344
16. Ahmad Jannati: 1, 321, 130

Former vice president Mohammad Reza Aref is leading Tehran’s parliamentary list followed by Ali Motahhari, Alireza Mahjoub, Soheila Jelodarzadeh, and Elias Hazrati.

Most of the votes throughout the country are shared among Principlists while Reformists achieved a landslide victory in the capital.

At least 33 million out of the 55 million eligible voters took part in Iran’s twin elections on Friday.

As many as 4,844 candidates, including about 500 women, were competing for a place in the 290-seat parliament. A total of 159 candidates ran for the 88-member Assembly of Experts. Members of the Assembly serve eight-year terms while MPs are elected every four years.


string(744) "[{"id":"1794068","sort":"3502689","contenttypeid":"21","pic":"/2016/02/28/alalam_635922962080100942_25f_4x3.jpg","title":"Iran Supreme Leader Thanks Nation over Elections Turnout"} ,{"id":"1793637","sort":"3502690","contenttypeid":"21","pic":"/2016/02/27/alalam_635921815453785445_25f_4x3.jpg","title":"61 Percent Turnout in Iran Elections by Pictures"} ,{"id":"1793569","sort":"3502691","contenttypeid":"21","pic":"/2016/02/27/alalam_635921690790182208_25f_4x3.jpg","title":"Iran's Interior Ministry: Election Turnout 33mln So Far"} ,{"id":"1793225","sort":"3502692","contenttypeid":"21","pic":"/2016/02/26/alalam_635920746732106057_25f_4x3.jpg","title":"Iran Supreme Leader Ayatollah Khamenei Casts His Vote in Tehran, Polls Open at 08:00"} ]"